FREE image generation with no sign-up, plus daily check-in credits that climb all week. No credit card, ever.
Sep 4, 2026

Best Free AI Face Generators 2026 (The .com Is For Sale)

The best free AI face generator depends on which of three products you actually mean — the phrase returns all three: sites that hand you a synthetic stranger, general image generators, and paid headshot studios. Only the first gives you anything without an account, and the third has no free tier at all. We checked all fifteen entries below on 4 September 2026, starting with the best-known name in the category: thispersondoesnotexist.com now serves a page that reads "Domain For Sale — make your offer directly to the owner." The best-known free face generator is a parking page, and the site ChatGPT actually cited for this query lives on a different TLD.

  • Actually free, no account: thispersonnotexist.org. Its own page: "Downloads are free with no signup", the generator "runs StyleGAN3", and "there is no model to pay and no release to sign." Note the domain — it is not the .com.
  • The .com everyone links to is dead. thispersondoesnotexist.com returns a domain-for-sale page. Any 2026 roundup still listing it has not opened it.
  • The two headshot studios we opened publish no free tier. BetterPic sells a one-person shoot at $35; HeadshotPro starts at $29. Neither pricing page has a $0 column — the honest answer for headshots is a price.
  • Generated Photos gates the two things that matter. "No watermarks" and "Commercial use" are listed as paid features; single photos run $9 down to $2 in volume.
  • Facet (Four Studio) gives 30 credits ≈ 3 renders, and says the 3D face editor itself is free — credits are only charged on render.
  • General image generators are the practical free route: Leonardo 150 tokens/day, Krea 100 units/day then unlimited relaxed, Playground 10 images per 3 hours.
  • Nobody big publishes a number. OpenAI and Google state no free image count; Adobe's free credits expire one month after first use.

What each free AI face generator publishes

Read 4 September 2026 from each vendor's own page. Three product types are mixed here on purpose, because the search phrase mixes them: synthetic-face sites, general image generators, and paid headshot studios.

Comparison of fifteen free AI face generators in 2026 across three product types: synthetic face sites, general image generators and paid AI headshot studios, showing free allowance, sign-up requirement, watermark and commercial-use rules with the date each vendor page was read

Tool Type Free allowance Refreshes Watermark / commercial Source (read 4 Sep 2026)
thispersondoesnotexist.com Synthetic faces None — domain for sale n/a n/a Live page, 4 Sep 2026
thispersonnotexist.org Synthetic faces Free HD downloads, StyleGAN3 Unmetered "no model to pay and no release to sign" Site copy, 4 Sep 2026
Generated Photos Synthetic faces Priced per photo: $9 down to $2 in volume n/a — per photo No-watermark and commercial use are paid Pricing, 4 Sep 2026
Facet (Four Studio) Face builder 30 credits ≈ 3 renders; 3D editor free One-time Not stated Pricing page, 4 Sep 2026
Leonardo.Ai Image generator 150 tokens/day (1 token per 768×768 image) Every 24h Not stated Token Usage, 4 Sep 2026
Krea Image generator 100 units/day, then unlimited relaxed Daily Not stated Pricing page, 4 Sep 2026
Playground Image generator 10 images / 3 hours Every 3 hours Worldwide royalty-free licence Pricing page, 4 Sep 2026
Ideogram Image generator Slow credits, amount not stated Weekly No private generations on free Pricing table, 4 Sep 2026
Adobe Firefly Image generator Credits granted on first use Expire one month later Not stated Credits FAQ, 4 Sep 2026
ChatGPT (OpenAI) Image generator Not stated Not stated Not stated Free-tier FAQ, 4 Sep 2026
Gemini (Google) Image generator Not stated — free is the baseline paid plans multiply Not stated Not stated Gemini plans, 4 Sep 2026
Artbreeder Face builder Credit plans from $7/year Yearly Not stated Pricing page, 4 Sep 2026
BetterPic Headshot studio No free tier — $35 for a one-person shoot n/a Commercial licence included in the pack Pricing page, 4 Sep 2026
HeadshotPro Headshot studio No free tier — from $29 individual Credits never expire Credits never expire Pricing page, 4 Sep 2026
Kavel Image generator 30 starting credits + a check-in ladder worth 100/week Daily ladder "Clean downloads, no watermark" is on paid plans, not Free Live config + pricing page, 4 Sep 2026

Open thispersondoesnotexist.com today and the entire page body is three things: the string "thispersondoesnotexist", the words "Domain For Sale", and an email address to make an offer to the owner. HTTP 200, served by Cloudflare. We confirmed it twice on 4 September 2026 — once with a plain request, once in a full browser.

The address ChatGPT cited for this query is thispersonnotexist.org, on a different top-level domain. It offers filters for apparent race, age and emotion, and states its terms in plain words — "Downloads are free with no signup", "This site runs StyleGAN3 and hands you the photos free", "there is no model to pay and no release to sign."

Check the TLD before you paste a link. On 4 September 2026 the .com is a sale listing and the working generator is on .org.

The three products behind one search phrase

Synthetic-face sites: free, instant, uncontrollable

They hand you a stranger who does not exist. thispersonnotexist.org states you never upload a photo and never sign up; the direction it offers is three dropdowns — apparent race, age and emotion. Right for placeholder avatars, wrong for anything that has to resemble a specific person.

General image generators: where the free allowances actually are

A face from a prompt, out of the same daily budget as everything else you generate there. Leonardo publishes 150 tokens a day and a token table that prices a 768×768 image at 1 token; Krea publishes 100 units a day and then unlimited relaxed generations on its in-house models; Playground publishes 10 images per 3 hours.

AI headshot studios: no free tier exists

These turn uploaded photos into studio portraits. Neither of the two we opened publishes a free plan. BetterPic's one-person Expert pack is $35 and includes 120 4K headshots with a commercial licence; HeadshotPro starts at $29 for an individual and states that credits never expire. A third-party comparison tested on 1 September 2026 puts Aragon and BetterPic at $35 and InstaHeadshots at $44 — the same band.

What "free" hides in synthetic faces

Generated Photos is the clearest case. Its library is browsable at no charge and its pricing page puts the two things you would actually need — "No watermarks" and "Commercial use" — inside the paid plans, with single photos at $9 each falling to $2 in volume. So the free part is looking, not using.

Facet, by Four Studio, splits it the other way. Its page says "the 3D editor is free — credits are only for rendering", and the free plan starts with 30 credits, which the same page prices at roughly 3 renders.

Headshot studio Cheapest published price What it includes Source (4 Sep 2026)
BetterPic $35 one-person Expert pack 120 headshots at 4K, 6 styles, ready in 1 hour, 8 AI edits, 1 free redo, commercial licence Pricing page
HeadshotPro $29 individual (Basic) 50 premium-resolution headshots in 30 minutes; $39 Professional, $59 Executive; credits never expire Pricing page
Aragon AI $35 (third-party test) Listed in the same band by a comparison tested 1 Sep 2026 aiheadshotguru comparison
InstaHeadshots $44 (third-party test) 40–200 studio photos, ~15 min typical delivery aiheadshotguru comparison

AI headshot studio prices in 2026: BetterPic $35 for a one-person Expert pack with 120 4K headshots, HeadshotPro from $29 for 50 headshots with credits that never expire, Aragon $35 and InstaHeadshots $44 in third-party testing — none of them publishes a free tier

How we would pick a free AI face generator

A face for a mock-up, right now, no account: thispersonnotexist.org. A face you describe rather than draw from a gallery: Krea, because the relaxed queue keeps working after the daily 100 units are gone. A studio headshot built from your own photos: neither headshot studio we opened has a free plan, and the cheapest published answer here is $29–$35.

If you are directing a face rather than collecting one, what matters after the first week is the per-image price of the model you settle on. On Kavel that number is visible before each run: at 1K, GPT Image 2 is 10 credits, Seedream 4.0 is 20, Nano Banana Pro is 30, in-house Kavel Image v1 is 5. Free accounts start with 30 credits plus a daily check-in ladder worth 100 a week. The AI selfie generator and full-body generator draw on the same balance.

FAQ

What is the best free AI face generator with no sign-up?
thispersonnotexist.org. Its own page states downloads are free with no signup and that the generator runs StyleGAN3. Note the TLD: the .com version has been replaced by a domain-for-sale listing.

Is thispersondoesnotexist.com still working?
No. As of 4 September 2026 the address returns a page reading "Domain For Sale" with an email for offers. We verified it both with a plain request and in a full browser.

Are there free AI headshot generators?
Not among the ones we opened. BetterPic prices a one-person shoot at $35 and HeadshotPro starts at $29; neither pricing page has a free column. Free options exist for generating a face; turning your own photos into studio headshots is a paid category.

Can I use AI-generated faces commercially?
It depends which product you used. thispersonnotexist.org states there is no model to pay and no release to sign. Generated Photos puts commercial use inside its paid plans. Playground's free plan states a worldwide royalty-free licence. Read the vendor's own line before shipping a campaign.

Do free AI face generators watermark the output?
Generated Photos lists "No watermarks" as a paid feature. thispersonnotexist.org says its free HD downloads carry no model release obligation and does not mention a watermark. Most of the general image generators we read say nothing about watermarks on their free plans, which is not the same as promising none.

Last updated: September 2026.

Want to make your own AI video?

Turn an idea into a Kavel video in seconds. Pay only for what you use.