AI virtual staging costs from about $0.07 a photo on listing-focused subscriptions to $24 for a human-finished image in 2026, and the price is the easy part. What gets agents in trouble is furniture that changes between two angles of the same room, and new rules that require a disclosure plus access to the unedited original.
- Cheapest per photo: listing-focused subscriptions land between about $0.07 and $0.45 a photo at volume (RoomStaging, Pedra, Collov AI, Shhots). Room-redesign apps quote even less per render ($0.01 to $0.05), but count renders, not finished listing photos. Pay-per-image tools run $7 (ApplyDesign), and human-finished virtual staging costs $16 (Styldod) to $24 (BoxBrownie).
- Multi-angle: Collov AI is the only tool that lists "Multi-Angle Staging" on its pricing page. In our own test, a general model kept the same layout across two angles once we fed it the first staged photo as a reference. With a text prompt alone, the layout drifted.
- Stills and video in one account: Kavel runs GPT Image 2.5 staging at $0.44 a photo on a first Lite month and Kling 3.0 for the listing clip, with failed runs refunded.
- Rules: California's AB 723 and NorthstarMLS's July 2026 guidelines both ask for a disclosure label plus the unaltered "before" photo.

Our own test, run 2026-09-23. The walls, windows, balcony door and floor stayed as photographed. Only movable furniture was added.
What AI virtual staging costs per photo in 2026
Every virtual staging price below comes from the vendor's own pricing page, read on 2026-09-23. Plans change often, so check the date before you quote it to a client. Where a vendor shows a yearly-billed monthly price, we say so, because that is the number most of these pages lead with.
| Tool | How you pay | Entry price | Photos at entry | Cost per photo | Best listed rate | Multi-angle stated | Furniture removal stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Collov AI (collov.ai) | Subscription | $19/mo (billed yearly) | 60 credits | $0.32 | $0.24 add-on photos | Yes (Advanced and up) | Yes |
| Pedra (pedra.ai) | Monthly credits | €29/mo | 100 (1 credit each) | €0.29 | €0.14 (yearly, 7,200 credits) | Not stated | Yes ("empty") |
| Decor8 AI (decor8.ai) | Flat subscription | $14.99/mo | Unlimited | — | API $0.20/image | Not stated | Yes |
| RoomStaging (roomstaging.net) | Subscription | $12/mo (billed yearly) | Not listed | — | $0.07 (Enterprise, billed yearly) | Not stated | Yes |
| Instant Interior AI (instantinteriorai.com) | Yearly credits | $13.50/mo (billed yearly, $162) | 200 renders/mo | $0.07 | $0.01 (Business, 60,000 renders/yr) | Not stated | Yes |
| Decor AI Home (decoraihome.com) | Free + Pro | 3 free designs a day; Pro $19.99/mo | Not listed | — | — | Not stated | Yes |
| REimagineHome (reimaginehome.ai) | Subscription | $14–$99/mo range | 30 credits (Essential) | Not listed per photo | — | Not stated | Not stated |
| Remodel AI (remodelai.io) | Subscription | $29/mo (billed $349/yr) | 1,000 designs | ~$0.03 | — | Not stated | Not stated |
| Interior AI (interiorai.com) | Subscription | $49/mo | 1,000 interiors | ~$0.05 | — | Not stated | Not stated |
| ApplyDesign (applydesign.io) | Pay per image | $10 per coin (1–9) | 1 | $10 | $7 (20+ coins) | Not stated | Yes (item removal) |
| Styldod (styldod.com, human-finished) | Pay per image | $16 (8+ images) | 1 | $16 | $16; +$6 for 24-hour delivery | Not stated | Not stated |
| Shhots (shhots.ai) | Subscription | $49/mo (Pro, 6,000 credits) | ~109 | ~$0.45 (its own blog) | — | Not stated | Yes (object removal) |
| Edensign (edensign.io) | Credits | Not listed | — | ~$0.28–$0.40 (its own blog) | — | Claims multi-view stable | Not stated |
| BoxBrownie (boxbrownie.com, human) | Pay per image | $24 | 1 | $24 | $24 | Not stated | $8 per image, extra |
| GPT Image 2.5 on Kavel | Credits | $9.90 first month (then $19.80), 900 credits | 22 photos at 2K | $0.44 first month, $0.88 after | $0.25 on Studio's first month, $0.50 after | Yes, with a reference photo (our test) | Prompt-based, not tested here |
Read the per-photo column with care. The "designs" that Remodel AI, Interior AI and Instant Interior AI count are redesign renders, and both tools are built for homeowners redesigning rooms more than for listing work. Their per-render number looks tiny, but you will render several versions per keeper. Collov's, RoomStaging's and Instant Interior AI's headline prices are the yearly-billed rate. Monthly billing costs more on all three pages.

Per-photo vs unlimited: where the break-even sits
Monthly cost at three volumes, using the list prices above (Collov at its yearly-billed rate):
| Photos staged per month | ApplyDesign (per image) | Collov AI Standard (60 credits) | Decor8 AI (unlimited) | BoxBrownie (human) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 | $50 ($10 each) | $19 | $14.99 | $120 |
| 20 | $140 ($7 each at 20+ coins) | $19 | $14.99 | $480 |
| 60 | $420 ($7 each) | $19 | $14.99 | $1,440 |

If you stage fewer than five photos a month, a per-image service costs the same as a subscription you forget to cancel. Past twenty, subscriptions win by a wide margin, and human virtual staging only makes sense for listings where one photo carries the whole ad.
Can AI virtual staging keep the same furniture across every angle?
Agents shopping for a tool in r/RealEstatePhotography list it as the requirement: "The furniture must be coordinated from different angles." Buyers scroll through five photos of one living room. If the sofa is grey in one and beige in the next, the listing looks fake, even when every other photo is honest.
Most virtual staging tools work on one photo at a time. Collov AI is the only one in our table whose pricing page lists "Multi-Angle Staging" (Edensign claims "multi-view stable" output on its own blog), described as applying "the same furniture across multiple photos of the same room". It sits on the Advanced plan ($49/month billed yearly) and up.
Our test: two angles of one room, with and without a reference
We took two photos of the same empty apartment living room (Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0) and staged them with GPT Image 2.5. The first angle got a written furniture list: grey sofa, walnut round coffee table, cream rug, two rust-orange armchairs, arc floor lamp and a fiddle-leaf fig. Then we staged the second angle twice:
- Text prompt only. Same furniture list, no picture of angle one.
- With a reference. Angle two plus the staged angle-one photo, asked to reuse the same pieces in the same places.

The text-only version used the same kinds of furniture but a different room layout. The sofa moved from the front of the room to under the windows, and orange cushions and a throw appeared that were not in angle one. A buyer flipping between the two photos would see two different living rooms. The reference version kept the arrangement: sofa in the foreground facing the windows, armchairs on either side of the round table, lamp and plant in the corner. The windows, floor and wall outlets in both results stayed as photographed.
That is one room and one model on one day, not a benchmark. What it suggests is worth trying on any tool that accepts a reference image: stage your widest shot first, then use it as the reference for the other angles. If your tool can't take a reference image, keep angle-two photos unstaged or pay for a multi-angle feature.
The prompts we used
People under staging tutorials keep asking where the prompts come from. These are ours, word for word. The last sentence is what kept the walls, floor and windows unchanged in both results:
Virtually stage this empty living room for a real estate listing. Add only movable furniture and decor: a light-grey three-seat fabric sofa, a round walnut coffee table, a cream wool rug, two rust-orange boucle armchairs, a black arc floor lamp, and a tall fiddle-leaf fig in a white pot. Place the sofa facing the windows with the rug and coffee table in front of it. Keep the room exactly as photographed: same walls, windows, doors, floor, ceiling, outlets, camera angle, lens and daylight. Do not change any architecture, window views or finishes.
For the second angle, attach the staged first photo and open with: "The second image is the same room, already virtually staged, photographed from a different angle. Virtually stage the first image with exactly the same furniture pieces, colors, materials and positions, seen from this new camera angle." To try it on your own listing, upload the empty photo to GPT Image 2.5; a 2K staged photo is 40 credits.
Where AI virtual staging goes wrong
The failures to check before you publish are the ones that turn a staged photo into a misleading one:
- Windows and views. Generative models can repaint what's outside the glass. California's AB 723 lists "views through windows" as an element you can't alter without disclosure.
- Furniture scale. A sofa that would never fit through the door makes the room look bigger than it is. Compare it against a door frame or an outlet in the same photo.
- Floors and walls. Generative models sometimes "clean up" a scuffed floor or change a wall color while adding furniture. That's a renovation, not virtual staging. Name the finishes to keep in the prompt ("same walls, floor, ceiling … do not change any finishes"), then compare the before and after side by side before you publish.
Virtual staging with a specific sofa or rug
Adding a specific piece works through a reference image. REimagineHome's pricing page (read 2026-09-23) lists "Reference Photo for Image Generation" and "Real Shoppable Products" as features its Essential plan does not include, so on that tool you need a higher tier. General image models such as Nano Banana 2 and GPT Image 2.5 accept a product photo as a second input the same way our angle test used a staged photo. The limit is the same: the model redraws the piece, so check stitching, legs and pattern before you publish.
MLS and state disclosure rules for virtual staging in 2026
Two primary sources set the bar for virtual staging right now. Both say more than "add a label".

| Rule | Who it covers | What it requires | What you can't change |
|---|---|---|---|
| California AB 723 (Business and Professions Code §10140.8) | Brokers and salespersons advertising California property | A statement that the image was altered, on or next to it, plus a link, URL or QR code to the original unaltered image | Anything added, removed or changed with editing software or AI, including fixtures, flooring, walls, paint color, landscape and views through windows |
| NorthstarMLS guidelines (published July 10, 2026, proposed) | NorthstarMLS listings | A disclosure in the caption, filename or on the photo, plus at least one unaltered "before" image for every staged room | Only personal property such as furniture and décor may be added or removed |

The practical workflow that satisfies both: keep every original, name staged files so the label travels with them, and upload the before photo for each staged room. Collov lists a "one-click virtual staging disclaimer" on its pricing page. That covers the label; publishing the before photo is still on you. None of the other pricing pages we read mention disclosure at all.
What you can't change with virtual staging
AB 723 defines a "digitally altered image" broadly: fixtures, furniture, appliances, flooring, walls, paint color, hardscape, landscape, facade, floor plans, and even streetlights, utility poles and neighboring properties. Adding furniture still counts as an alteration under AB 723, so it needs the disclosure; it is also the only edit NorthstarMLS's guidelines permit. If your AI virtual staging tool also "improved" the view or swapped the flooring, you now have a renovation to disclose, and under NorthstarMLS's guidelines that edit isn't allowed at all.
From virtual staging to a listing video
The common complaint about AI listing videos is "a lot of steps and extra subscriptions": one tool to stage, another to animate, a third platform to reach the video model. Using Kling directly is fine if video is all you need, and it is usually the cheaper way to buy clips alone. One account only saves steps when you stage the stills too:
- Stage the widest shot of each room, then the other angles with that shot as the reference.
- Export the staged stills at 2K and keep the originals for the disclosure link.
- Feed each staged still to an image-to-video model such as Kling 3.0 or Seedance 2.5 with a slow push-in or pan.
- Label the clip as virtually staged, the same as the photos.
Our Kling 3.0 vs Veo 3.1 test covers which model handles camera moves better. What one staged listing costs on Kavel:
| Step | Model | Credits on Kavel | First-month cost on Lite ($9.90 / 900 credits) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stage one photo at 2K | GPT Image 2.5 | 40 | $0.44 |
| Animate it, 5 seconds, 720p | Kling 3.0 image-to-video | 265 | $2.92 |
| A listing with 6 staged photos and one 5-second clip | 505 | $5.56 |

After the first month, Lite is $19.80, which doubles every number in the last column. Pedra is the one virtual staging tool in our table that bundles property videos: its pricing page (read 2026-09-23) lists them as unlimited next to its €29 plan. If you already live in Pedra, that's the simpler path. If you want to choose the video model shot by shot (our Seedance image-to-video platform comparison lists where else you can run it), a general tool with both image and video models on one balance is the other route. Kavel's pricing page says failed runs are refunded automatically, which matters more for video, where one 5-second clip costs about as much as six staged stills (265 vs 240 credits).
Which AI virtual staging tool to pick

- One or two listings a month: ApplyDesign's pay-per-image pricing, or GPT Image 2.5 on Kavel ($0.44 a photo on a first Lite month) if you also want video. No large subscription to forget.
- An agent staging 20+ photos a month: Collov AI, which also covers multi-angle staging and a disclosure label, or RoomStaging if price per photo is what matters most.
- A team or brokerage at volume: Pedra's yearly credits (€0.14 a photo at the top tier) or Decor8 AI's flat $14.99.
- A luxury listing where one photo sells the house: BoxBrownie's human-finished virtual staging at $24 a photo.
- You also need a listing video: Pedra's bundled videos, or a general image-and-video tool such as Kavel's GPT Image 2.5 with Kling 3.0 on one balance.
If you're pricing photography for a listing too, our product photography cost breakdown runs the same per-photo math for studio shoots.
Physical staging is the benchmark all of these beat on cost: Noseberry Digital's 2026 cost guide puts it at $2,000 to $12,000+ per property. AI virtual staging for six rooms costs from well under $1 to about $60 on the tools above.

AI virtual staging FAQ
Is AI virtual staging legal?
In the two rule sets we reviewed, yes, as long as it's disclosed and doesn't misrepresent the property. Check your own state and MLS. In California, AB 723 requires a statement next to any digitally altered listing image and a link or QR code to the unaltered original.
Do I have to disclose virtual staging on the MLS?
Check your MLS's rules, but the direction is clear. NorthstarMLS's July 2026 guidelines ask for a label plus an unaltered "before" photo for each staged room.
How much does AI virtual staging cost per photo?
From the pricing pages we read on 2026-09-23: about $0.07 to $0.45 a photo on subscription tools at volume, $7 to $10 per image on ApplyDesign, and $16 to $24 for human-finished staging at Styldod and BoxBrownie.
Can buyers tell a photo was virtually staged?
Often, and some say they distrust it. A Reddit post in r/RealEstatePhotography complained about the sheer quantity of AI-staged listings and said, "As a buyer, I don't trust anything that looks virtually staged." That's the argument for honest labels and matching furniture across angles, not against virtual staging.
Can ChatGPT do virtual staging?
Yes. ChatGPT's image tool can edit an uploaded room photo from a prompt, and GPT Image 2.5, the model we tested here, is OpenAI's image model. The same rules apply: give it the furniture list, tell it what not to change, and use a staged photo as the reference for other angles.
Where can I try AI virtual staging for free?
From the pricing pages we read: ApplyDesign's first image is free, REimagineHome gives new users 5 free designs, and Decor AI Home offers 3 free designs a day.
What happens when a buyer sees the empty room in person?
That is what the disclosure and the before photo are for. If the listing labels the staged photos and shows the unaltered original, the buyer walks in expecting an empty room. Undisclosed staging is what turns a showing into a complaint.
Can AI remove existing furniture before virtual staging?
Most tools list it: Collov AI, Pedra, Decor8 AI, RoomStaging, Instant Interior AI and ApplyDesign all mention furniture or item removal on their pricing pages. BoxBrownie charges $8 per image for it.
Does virtual staging work on occupied rooms?
Yes, with furniture removal before virtual staging. Expect more cleanup than on an empty room, and check that floors and walls weren't altered along the way.
Virtual staging sources
- California AB 723, Business and Professions Code §10140.8 (leginfo.legislature.ca.gov), read 2026-09-23
- NorthstarMLS, "Guidelines for Virtual Staging and AI-Enhanced Listing Photos", July 10, 2026
- Pricing pages of Collov AI, Pedra, Decor8 AI, RoomStaging, Instant Interior AI, Decor AI Home, REimagineHome, Remodel AI, Interior AI, ApplyDesign, Styldod and BoxBrownie, read 2026-09-23; Shhots and Edensign prices from their own blogs
- Other 2026 roundups the answer engines cite for this question, which we read before writing: theclose.com, theprotoolkit.com, toolchase.com, noseberrydigitals.com, premiuminfo.org, aitoolsbakery.com, estateo.co, straight.com, estatereimagine.com, roomagen.com, archmaster.app, aimircg.com
- Test photos: "Apartment Room 2025-10-12" 2 and 3 by Yelderberry, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0
Ready to stage a listing buyers can trust? Stage your widest shot with GPT Image 2.5, reuse it as the reference for every other angle, and publish the originals alongside.





