50% OFF Your first purchase is half price — the discount is already in the price you see. Ends September 30.
Sep 23, 2026

Best Kling Motion Control Platform (2026): Cost per Clip

Kling motion control costs about $0.27 to $1 per 5-second 720p clip on most platforms in 2026, and the per-second rate is not the whole bill. Kling's own guide says that when it has to cut your reference down to the usable motion, the credits it spent are not refunded. A dance that gets trimmed three times costs you three clips.

  • Cheapest per clip: Kling's own Pro plan works out to about $0.49 for 5 seconds of Kling 3.0 motion control at 720p, and fal.ai, WaveSpeed and Kling's API charge $0.63. Kling 2.6 motion control is roughly half that on Kling's app and fal.ai, and a third on PiAPI.
  • 3.0 vs 2.6: in our side-by-side test with the same reference dance, both copied the moves almost frame for frame. Kling 3.0 motion control kept the feet cleaner through a fast spin; neither kept the face sharp mid-spin.
  • Failed runs: Kling's guide says trimmed runs keep your credits. Some resellers, including reAPI and Kavel, refund failed jobs automatically. On Kavel's annual Pro plan, a 5-second Kling 3.0 clip is $0.71 in the first year.

Our test, run 2026-09-23: one character image, one 5-second reference clip, Kling 3.0 (middle) and Kling 2.6 (right) motion control at 720p.

What Kling motion control costs per clip on each platform

Kling motion control takes one character image and one reference video and makes your character perform the reference's moves. Every rate below comes from the platform's own pricing page or documentation, read on 2026-09-23. Kling's app bills in credits: 9 credits per second for Kling 3.0 motion control at standard (720p), 12 at professional (1080p), and 5 and 8 for Kling 2.6. Billing rounds to whole seconds. We turned every plan into the same unit: one 5-second clip.

Platform How you pay Kling 3.0, 5 s, 720p Kling 3.0, 5 s, 1080p Kling 2.6, 5 s, 720p If a run fails or is cut Also on the same balance Checked
Kling app, Pro (klingai.com) $32.56/mo after a $25.99 first month, 3,000 credits $0.49 $0.65 $0.27 Trimmed runs not refunded (Kling guide) Kling models only 2026-09-23
Kling app, Standard (klingai.com) $8.80/mo after a $6.99 first month, 660 credits $0.60 $0.80 $0.33 Trimmed runs not refunded (Kling guide) Kling models only 2026-09-23
Kling API (klingai.com) Prepaid units, 1 unit = $0.14 $0.63 $0.84 One motion control rate listed Not stated on pricing page Kling models only 2026-09-23
fal.ai Per second, no subscription $0.63 $0.84 $0.35 Not stated on model page Hundreds of models 2026-09-23
WaveSpeed (wavespeed.ai) Per run, billed per second (3-second minimum) $0.63 Not read Not read Not stated on model page Many models 2026-09-23
PiAPI (piapi.ai) Per second $0.98 $1.30 (pro) $0.33 Not stated on docs page Many models 2026-09-23
reAPI (reapi.ai) Credits, 1 credit = $0.001 Rate on model page Rate on model page Rate on model page Failed jobs refunded automatically Many models 2026-09-23
Kavel, annual Pro (first year) $360/yr, 86,400 credits $0.71 $1.19 $0.63 Failed runs refunded automatically Seedance 2.5, Veo 3.1, GPT Image 2.5 and more 2026-09-23
Kavel, Studio $99.90 first month, then $199.80, 16,000 credits $1.06 first month $1.78 first month $0.94 first month Failed runs refunded automatically Same as above 2026-09-23

Kling motion control cost per 5-second clip at 720p by platform, read 2026-09-23

The same motion control clip is priced very differently depending on where you run it and how long your reference is. Kling bills per second of output, and the output matches the length of your reference unless Kling trims it, so a 30-second reference costs six times a 5-second one. Trim the reference before you upload.

Why credits per second hides the real cost

The table prices a clip that works. Two things push your real cost per usable clip higher:

  • Trimmed runs. Kling's own guide says a reference with cuts, shot changes, camera movement or very fast motion may be cut down to its valid continuous segment, with a 3-second minimum, "and the consumed credits cannot be refunded."
  • Retries. On a platform that doesn't refund, a run that comes back warped because the character image was half-body and the reference was full-body costs the same as one that worked.

The decision rule: if you expect more than one retry per usable clip, a platform that refunds failed runs beats one that is 10 cents cheaper per clip.

Kling 3.0 vs 2.6 motion control: which one to pay for

On Kling's own credit table, Kling 3.0 motion control costs 9 credits per second at 720p against 5 for Kling 2.6, so 3.0 is 80% more per clip on the app. On Kavel the gap is smaller: 170 credits versus 150 for 5 seconds.

Our test: same image, same reference, both models

We generated one full-body character image (a man in a teal hoodie on a rooftop at dusk) and cut 5 seconds from a Creative Commons Kathak performance on Wikimedia Commons as the motion reference. The clip has a fast spin and wide arm sweeps. Then we ran Kling 3.0 and Kling 2.6 motion control on the same inputs, both at 720p with character orientation set to follow the video. At Kavel's credit rates the pair costs 320 credits (170 + 150).

The two inputs for our Kling motion control test: a generated full-body character image and a frame from the 5-second Kathak reference clip

Mid-spin frame from the same reference: Kling 3.0 keeps the feet cleaner, Kling 2.6 smears them; both blur the face

What we saw:

  • Pose accuracy: almost identical. Both models copied the arm positions and the leg crossing at every second we sampled.
  • The spin: at 3.5 seconds both motion control outputs blur. Kling 2.6 smears the feet into one shape. Kling 3.0 keeps both shoes readable.
  • The face: neither held it mid-turn. Kling 3.0 briefly drew what looks like glasses the character image never had. Kling 2.6 smeared the face. Both recovered once the character faced the camera again.
  • The costume: the reference dancer wears a flowing skirt. Both models kept the character's joggers and did not invent a skirt, which is what you want from motion control.

In this one clip, the difference between the two only showed up during the spin. If your moves are slower than that, 2.6 is likely enough and costs less; if your reference has spins or fast footwork, run both on a short test and compare the fastest second.

Motion control vs Seedance 2.5 reference video

Kling motion control copies a specific performance onto your character. Seedance 2.5 takes a reference video as one input alongside your prompt (on Kavel it accepts a reference clip in the same generator), so it suits a scene inspired by a move more than a move-for-move copy. If the dance itself is the point, use motion control; for dance clips built from a single photo, there's also our AI dance video generator. If the shot is the point, Seedance 2.5 is worth a run. Our Seedance 2.5 vs Veo 3.1 comparison shows how it handles camera direction.

How to run Kling motion control

  1. Pick the reference. One person, one continuous shot, fixed camera, 3 to 30 seconds. Trim it to the part you need.
  2. Make the character image match. Full-body reference, full-body image; leave room around the character for big moves.
  3. Choose the orientation. Follow the video for dances and turns; follow the image if you want camera movement.
  4. Write a short prompt for the scene. Ours:
The man in the teal hoodie performs the exact dance from the reference video on the same concrete rooftop at dusk, keeping his face, clothes and the background from the character image, spinning and moving his arms in sync with the reference.

Why your motion control run fails, and what to change

Kling's own guide lists input rules, and the errors people report map onto them:

What you see Likely cause (per Kling's guide) What to change
"Upper body not detected" or a warped body Image and reference don't match in framing Use a full-body image with a full-body reference, or half-body with half-body
Output shorter than your reference Cuts, camera moves or very fast motion got trimmed to the valid segment Use one continuous shot from a fixed camera
Run fails at submit Reference under 3 seconds or over 30, or short edge under 340 px Trim to 3–30 seconds, export at least 340 px on the short edge
Limbs break on fast moves Motion too fast Slow the reference to 0.5x, generate, then speed the result back up
Character runs out of frame Large moves, no room in the image Leave space around the character in the image
Face changes between shots No face reference bound Bind an element; Kling's element library uses facial information only, not clothes or hair
Background looks static Motion control copies the character's moves, not the scene Describe background elements in the prompt, or set character orientation to match the image, which Kling says supports camera movement

Why Kling motion control runs fail and what to change, based on Kling's own guide

For fast moves, slow the reference to 0.5x before uploading and speed the result back up afterwards (a tip from a YouTube commenter). Kling's own advice points the same way: "Avoid overly fast motions; steady, moderate movements yield the best results."

How long can the reference video be?

From 3 to 30 seconds, per Kling's guide (read 2026-09-23). The output matches its length unless Kling trims unusable motion. The biggest cost lever in motion control is trimming the reference to the part you need.

Can you use someone else's dance or moves?

Creators ask whether copying a known dancer's or martial artist's moves invites a copyright claim. We're not lawyers, and this isn't legal advice. Two steps reduce the risk you control:

  • Use footage you have the rights to. Your own recording, a licensed clip, or a Creative Commons video with attribution, as we did here. Kling's motion library is another option.
  • Don't copy a real person's face or identity. Motion control keeps the face from your character image. Use a character you created or have permission to use.

Which Kling motion control platform to pick

WaveSpeed's Kling 3.0 motion control page: one character image and one motion video are the only required inputs

  • A few clips a month, Kling only: Kling's own Standard plan. It's the cheapest way to buy motion control credits, as long as your references are clean enough not to get trimmed.
  • Steady weekly output: Kling's Pro plan at about $0.49 per 5-second clip.
  • Developers: Kling's API or fal.ai at $0.126 per second for 3.0 standard. fal also sells 2.6 at $0.07 per second.
  • You're weighing other models too: our Seedance 2.5 alternatives roundup prices nine of them, and Kling 3.0 vs Veo 3.1 covers the audio trade-off.
  • You iterate a lot, or you also use other models: a platform that refunds failed runs and puts Kling 3.0, Kling 2.6 and Seedance 2.5 on one balance. On Kavel that's $0.71 per 5-second clip on the annual Pro plan's first year.
  • An AI UGC or client agency: a commenter asked whether to use "Heygen or KlingAI". HeyGen builds avatars that talk. Kling motion control makes a character perform a move. Most client work needs one or the other, not both.

Kling motion control FAQ

Is Kling motion control free?
Kling's app has a free Basic tier, and its pricing page (read 2026-09-23) lists daily free credits as a subscriber benefit. Paid plans start at $6.99 for the first month of Standard, then $8.80 a month.

How much does Kling motion control cost per second?
In Kling's app: 9 credits per second for 3.0 at 720p, 12 at 1080p, 5 and 8 for 2.6. On the API: $0.126 per second at 720p and $0.168 at 1080p.

Does it work with half-body shots?
Yes, if the reference is half-body too. Kling's guide says to match full-body with full-body and half-body with half-body.

Do failed generations cost credits?
On Kling's app, trimmed runs keep the credits spent. On reAPI and Kavel, failed jobs are refunded automatically.

Is there an unlimited Kling motion control plan?
Not on any pricing page we read on 2026-09-23. Every platform in our table meters it per second.

Can I use Kling motion control commercially?
Kling's paid plans state "Generated content is for commercial use" (pricing page, read 2026-09-23). Kavel's paid plans include a commercial use license. Check the rights to your reference footage separately.

Kling motion control sources

  • Kling AI, "Kling Motion Control User Guide" (kling.ai), read 2026-09-23
  • Kling AI API pricing and membership plans (klingai.com), read 2026-09-23
  • fal.ai and WaveSpeed Kling motion control model pages; PiAPI and reAPI documentation, read 2026-09-23
  • Kavel pricing page and credit rules, read 2026-09-23
  • Other 2026 guides the answer engines cite for this question, which we read before writing: pixmax.ai, eachlabs.ai, motioncontrolai.com, overchat.ai, promptsrush.com, makeaivideo.ai, creatify.ai, useneospark.com, astorie.ai, techsifted.com, medeo.app, openpr.com
  • Reference clip: "Vishvadeep performing Kathak at Khajuraho Dance Festival 2026 001" by Suyash Dwivedi, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0 (cropped, 5 seconds)

Have a clean reference ready? Put your own character through that move with Kling 3.0 motion control, and if the run fails, the credits come back.

See more Kavel guides like this one in Google Search and AI Overviews.

Add Kavel as a preferred source on Google

Stop reading and start directing

Turn the idea in this guide into the video you came here to make.