Paying for GPT Image 2.5 buys you more images and more control, not a better model: the free ChatGPT tier runs the same release, and the grain people keep complaining about did not follow any setting in our own test.
- GPT Image 2.5 is already free inside ChatGPT. OpenAI shipped it on 8 September 2026 to ChatGPT, ChatGPT Work and Codex users on desktop, mobile and web, free users included. What Free does not tell you is how many images you get.
- Go ($8) promises higher image limits than Free; Go, Plus ($20) and Pro ($100 or $200) publish no image number at all. If you need a predictable count, a subscription is the wrong way to pay.
- The API is the only place with a real per-image price: $0.0059 at low quality up to $0.2107 at max for a 1024×1024 image, with Flare and Sunburst billed at the same token rate. You need a paid usage tier.
- Kavel runs both GPT Image 2.5 Flare and Sunburst with no API key: 25 credits at 1K, 40 at 2K, 60 at 4K, per image, and you pick the resolution yourself.
- Grain is not something you pay your way out of. In our four-image test the noisiest sky came from Sunburst at 4K and the cleanest from Flare at 4K, so neither the tier nor the resolution predicted it.

Every way to pay for GPT Image 2.5, and what one image costs
Five days after launch, GPT Image 2.5 is sold in three shapes: a ChatGPT subscription with an unpublished cap, a metered API, and third-party hosts that resell Flare, Sunburst or both. Every host below is one we could confirm, with the date we checked.
| Where | How you pay | One image costs | Flare or Sunburst | Resolution / quality setting | Works without an API key | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT | Free, Go $8/mo, Plus $20/mo, Pro $100 or $200/mo | Not published on any plan | Not documented as a choice | Not documented | Yes | 2026-09-13 |
| OpenAI API | Metered, $30 per 1M image output tokens | $0.0059 (low) to $0.2107 (max) at 1024×1024 | Both, same price | low, medium, high, xhigh, max | No, needs usage tier 1 or above | 2026-09-09 |
| Kavel | Credits from a plan or credit pack | 25 / 40 / 60 credits at 1K / 2K / 4K | Both, same price | 1K, 2K, 4K | Yes | 2026-09-13 |
| Adobe Firefly | Not stated | Not stated | Both | Not stated | Not stated | 2026-09-09 |
| Higgsfield | Not stated | Not stated | Both | Not stated | Not stated | 2026-09-13 |
| Morphic | Not stated | Not stated | Both | Not stated | Not stated | 2026-09-10 |
| WaveSpeed | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 2026-09-09 |
| PixVerse | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 2026-09-10 |
| Arcads | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 2026-09-10 |
| Promptsref | Not stated | Not stated | Both | Not stated | Not stated | 2026-09-12 |
| LMArena | Free for 72 hours | $0 from 10 to 13 Sep 2026 | Sunburst named | Not stated | Yes | 2026-09-10 |
On ChatGPT, the number you care about, images per month, is not published on any plan. OpenAI's Free tier FAQ says "the free image creation limit has been reached" and offers Plus; its Go page promises "higher limits than Free". Neither gives a figure, and Plus lists API usage as not included.
In the table, only the OpenAI API and Kavel publish a price per image. Our GPT Image 2.5 API pricing breakdown rebuilt OpenAI's token calculator to get the $0.0059 to $0.2107 range; landscape and portrait cost about 22% less than square.
Which way of paying fits which job
| What you are making | Best way to pay | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A few images a week for yourself | ChatGPT Free | Same model, no bill, unseen cap |
| Daily social graphics | Kavel credits or ChatGPT Go | Known cost per image beats an unknown cap |
| Product photos you will print or zoom | Kavel at 4K | You choose 4K per image |
| One element changed, rest untouched | Sunburst on Kavel or the API | OpenAI positions Sunburst for "workflows where editing precision matters most" |
| Thousands of images in a pipeline | OpenAI API, Flare | 5 images/min at tier 1, 250 at tier 5 |
What GPT Image 2.5 does better than Images 2.0
GPT Image 2.5 is a real upgrade over Images 2.0, which matters for the paying question: even Free users get it. On launch day LMArena put GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst at #1 and GPT Image 2.5 Flare at #2 in all three of its image leaderboards. Sunburst scored 1,421 in Text-to-Image, 1,520 in Image Edit and 1,535 in Multi-Image Edit, against 1,381, 1,461 and 1,454 for OpenAI's previous model at medium quality. The gap is widest on edits, which is where Sunburst is aimed.

OpenAI's own claims are narrower and easier to check: generation latency down "up to 50% compared with Images 2.0", edits that hold "across multiple turns", and subjects from reference photos that stay recognisable. Editing is the claim users picked up first. Todd Grilliot ran three pixel-art edits through both generations.
![]()
In the tavern row GPT Image 2.5 kept the lanterns and furniture where they were and only relit the room. In the witch row it kept the character intact and replaced the background. That is the job Sunburst is priced for.
What the first reviews concluded
| Review | Date | Verdict on paying | What it flagged |
|---|---|---|---|
| eesel.ai | 9 Sep | Upgrade if you already use OpenAI's image tools; the free app covers occasional use | Long text inside images still drifts; not a designer replacement |
| buildfastwithai.com | 8 Sep | "A major upgrade", sharper detail and richer textures | Asks whether it is good enough to be an everyday design tool |
| airmore.ai | 9 Sep | Start with Flare, move to Sunburst for reference-sensitive edits | States it ran no controlled cross-model benchmark |
| vocal.media | Sep | "Local edits stay local" | Noise in high-ISO and low-light scenes; multi-turn edits contested |
| techradar.com | 10 Sep | Sides with users complaining about texture | Persistent fine grain in skies and plain backdrops |
| theverge.com | 8 Sep | Sketch turned a mouse-drawn doodle into a realistic photo | Feature test, no verdict on price |
| reddit.com | 8 to 10 Sep | Threads in r/ChatGPT and r/singularity say the noise carried over | Sharpness and texture over everything |
Across these seven, the reviews that looked at editing called it better, the ones that looked at texture found grain, and none tested whether a setting changes it.
Where GPT Image 2.5 still slips
Short labels and headlines come out clean most of the time, but a paragraph baked into an image can still drift into invented words. Repeated edits also degrade: @GlitterPixely found that "editing a few times still gets the image messy", and @gregschoeninger saw feeding a result back in still wear it down, if less than on Images 2.0.
The GPT Image 2.5 grain problem, tested
TechRadar tested four images on 10 September and found a "persistent fine texture" in skies, studio backdrops and low-light areas, even when the prompt asked for smooth gradients. On launch day @mark_k ran a forest prompt and called the result "mixed"; an hour later @HarshithLucky3 said he used the exact prompt and got "so much of noise".

Two things a paying user can control are the tier and the resolution, so we tested those on GPT Image 2.5 itself. One prompt, a barn owl against a clear twilight sky that asks for "a perfectly smooth, clean gradient", through Flare and Sunburst at 1K and 4K on Kavel, one image each.

At normal viewing size all four skies look clean. To see the grain we cut the same patch of sky from each, scaled them to the same width, removed the gradient and amplified what was left 14 times. We also measured it: the standard deviation of that leftover detail on a 0 to 255 scale.

| Run | Output size | Sky noise σ | What the amplified patch shows |
|---|---|---|---|
| Flare, 1K | 1536×1024 | 1.45 | Fine cross-hatch across the whole patch |
| Sunburst, 1K | 1536×1024 | 0.64 | Faint cross-hatch |
| Flare, 4K | 3504×2336 | 0.45 | Soft blotches, the cleanest of the four |
| Sunburst, 4K | 3504×2336 | 2.48 | Blotchy grain, the noisiest of the four |
Cleanest to noisiest differs by more than five times, and neither the tier nor the resolution explains it. Sunburst was cleaner than Flare at 1K and noisier at 4K. Going to 4K made Flare cleaner and Sunburst worse. With one image per cell this cannot say which setting is cleanest on average; it does say that the pricier tier or the bigger size is not a fix. If a GPT Image 2.5 image lives or dies on a clean sky, generate two and keep the better one.
Is it worth paying for GPT Image 2.5?
Worth it when you need a count, a size or a tier you can choose. Not worth it if all you want is the model itself, because Free already has it.
- Stay on ChatGPT Free if you make a handful of images and can live with an unannounced cap.
- Pay per image when you need to know the cost before you start. Run GPT Image 2.5 on Kavel at 25 credits for 1K or 60 for 4K, Flare for speed and Sunburst for edits, with no API key and no usage tier. Plans and credit packs are on the pricing page.
- Use the API if you are wiring GPT Image 2.5 into software and need quality steps from low to max.

If GPT Image 2.5 is not the look you want, Nano Banana 2 against the previous OpenAI model covers the other house style. Nano Banana 2, Nano Banana Pro and Seedream 5.0 Lite all run on Kavel too, Qwen Image 3 is the one to pick when the image has to spell words, and the previous OpenAI model stays the cheapest way into the family.
FAQ
Is GPT Image 2.5 free?
Yes, inside ChatGPT. OpenAI released it to ChatGPT, ChatGPT Work and Codex users on desktop, mobile and web, free users included, but does not publish how many free images you get. The OpenAI API has no free usage tier for it.
Is ChatGPT Plus worth it just for GPT Image 2.5?
Only if the Free cap is what stops you. Plus costs $20 a month, publishes no image number, and does not include API usage. If you mainly want images, a per-image price such as 25 credits at 1K on Kavel is easier to budget.
Does ChatGPT Go include GPT Image 2.5?
Yes. Go is $8 a month in the US, priced locally in some markets, and OpenAI describes it as having higher image generation limits than Free. It does not give a number either.
How much does one GPT Image 2.5 image cost in the API?
At 1024×1024 it is $0.0059 at low, $0.0132 at medium, $0.0527 at high, $0.0937 at xhigh and $0.2107 at max. Flare and Sunburst cost the same per token.
Can I choose between Flare and Sunburst in ChatGPT?
OpenAI documents Flare and Sunburst as two API models and does not document a switch between them in ChatGPT. On Kavel both sit in the model picker.
Does GPT Image 2.5 still add grain?
Sometimes. Testers and Reddit users still find fine texture in skies and plain backgrounds. In our test the amount changed more than fivefold between runs and did not follow the tier or the resolution.
Can I use GPT Image 2.5 without an API key?
Yes, in ChatGPT or on Kavel, which runs both Flare and Sunburst in the browser. The OpenAI API itself needs a key and a paid usage tier.
Sources
- OpenAI, GPT Image 2.5 launch post ("Introducing ChatGPT Images"), openai.com, read 2026-09-13
- OpenAI, Flare model page and Sunburst model page, read 2026-09-13
- OpenAI Help Center, What is ChatGPT Plus? and ChatGPT Free Tier FAQ, read 2026-09-13
- OpenAI, "Introducing ChatGPT Go", openai.com, read 2026-09-13
- The Verge, Jay Peters, "ChatGPT Sketch turns your bad drawings into detailed AI images", 8 Sep 2026
- TechRadar, Eric Hal Schwartz, "'The noise patterns are awful'", 10 Sep 2026
- eesel.ai, buildfastwithai.com, airmore.ai and vocal.media launch reviews, 8 to 9 Sep 2026
- LMArena on X, 8 Sep 2026 (leaderboards) and 10 Sep 2026 (72-hour free access)
- X posts by @GrilliotTodd (10 Sep), @mark_k and @HarshithLucky3 (8 Sep), @zeng_wt on Adobe Firefly (9 Sep), @PixVerse (10 Sep), @wavespeed_ai (9 Sep), @eliana_jordan on Arcads (10 Sep), @underwoodxie96 on Promptsref (12 Sep)
- Higgsfield, "Higgsfield Meets GPT Image 2.5", 8 Sep 2026
- Kavel test runs, 13 Sep 2026: Flare and Sunburst at 1K and 4K, same prompt; credit prices read from Kavel's live pricing config





