50% OFF Your first purchase is half price — the discount is already in the price you see. Ends October 30.

Kling 4.0 vs Kling 3.0: What Changed and Which to Use

Kling 4.0 vs Kling 3.0 is not a resolution fight: both already render up to 4K. The main differences are clip length, keyframes and references: from 15 seconds to 30, from a start and end frame to 10 keyframes, and from 7 reference assets to 15. Kling made the full Kling 4.0 available on kling.ai on October 15, 2026, but its developer API and 10-bit HDR are still listed as coming soon, so where you can run each model matters as much as what each one can do.

Kling 4.0 makes one clip twice as long (30 s vs 15 s), steers it with up to 10 keyframes and 15 references, and outputs stereo sound; Kling 3.0 stops at 15 s with start and end frames. Since October 15, 2026 the full Kling 4.0 runs on kling.ai and through Kling's MCP and CLI; API access and 10-bit HDR are still "coming soon". Kling 3.0 runs everywhere today, including fal, Replicate and Kavel's Kling 3.0 generator, with the price shown before every run. Pick Kling 4.0 for 20 to 30 second one-take scenes and heavy reference work; pick 3.0 for short clips you need now, or through an API.

Kling 4.0 vs Kling 3.0 at a glance

Every figure below comes from the official comparison (published September 30, 2026) and the October 15 launch post, read on October 16, 2026. The Flash column is the fast tier that opened first to Ultra Yearly subscribers on September 28.

Capability Kling 3.0 Kling 4.0 Flash Kling 4.0 (full) What it means for you
Longest clip in one generation 15 s 20 s 30 s A whole scene without stitching
Keyframes Start and end frame Keyframes, count not stated Up to 10 Pin each beat of the story
Resolution 720p / 1080p / 4K 720p 720p / 1080p / 4K Same top resolution
Dynamic range 8-bit SDR SDR (720p only) 10-bit HDR at 1080p and 4K (coming soon) Smoother highlights once it ships
Audio Single-channel Not stated separately Two-channel stereo Sound with left and right
Reference images and subjects Up to 7 (4 with a video) Not stated separately Up to 10 images, 7 subjects More faces and products in one shot
Reference videos 1, up to 15 s Not stated separately Up to 5, 30 s total Borrow motion from several clips
Total reference assets Up to 7 Up to 15 Up to 15 Twice the inputs
Prompt length Not stated Not stated separately Up to 8,000 tokens Room for a full shot list
21:9 ultrawide Not stated Yes (creators posted 21:9 Flash clips) Yes Cinema framing
Main languages for speech Chinese, English, Japanese, Korean, Spanish Not stated separately Adds Portuguese, German, French, Hindi and more Dialogue in more markets
Video editing Through 3.0 Omni Not stated separately Built into the Kling 4.0 workflow Edit and generate in one place
Where you can run it Kling app, Kling API, fal, Replicate, Kavel Kling app (Ultra Yearly first) kling.ai, MCP, CLI 3.0 is the one on third-party sites
Developer API Yes No Coming soon Only 3.0 for apps and batches

Flash has no separate spec sheet beyond its 720p and 20-second limits; the official feature page says Omni Reference and keyframe control reached Flash first.

Kling 4.0 vs Kling 3.0 compared: 30 s vs 15 s per clip, 10 keyframes vs start and end frame, 15 vs 7 reference assets, stereo vs single-channel audio, read October 16, 2026

Kling's official Kling 4.0 vs Kling 3.0 comparison table: duration, keyframes, resolution, dynamic range, audio, languages, references and editing

Kling 4.0 vs Kling 3.0 availability: is Kling 4.0 out?

Kling AI's October 15, 2026 post: Kling 4.0 is now fully available on kling.ai and through MCP and CLI, with 10-bit HDR and API access coming soon

Yes. The new model went from preview to full release in two steps:

  • September 28, 2026: the company announced the model and opened Kling 4.0 Flash to Ultra Yearly subscribers in a limited rollout: fast 720p clips up to 20 seconds.
  • October 15, 2026: Kling posted "KLING Kling 4.0 Is Now Fully Available". The full model runs in a refreshed creation interface on kling.ai and through MCP and CLI tools.
  • Still coming soon: 10-bit HDR output at 4K and 1080p, and API access for developers and enterprise customers. The feature page also lists video extension up to 2 minutes as coming soon. The company has not said whether HDR is generated natively or applied after generation.

The launch note adds a 10% discount on Kling 4.0 generations for Pro, Premier, Ultra+ and Team plans until October 29, 2026, 8:00 Pacific. It is a time-limited discount; the launch post did not announce new plan prices. Some official pages still said "coming soon this October" on October 16, a day after the launch post, so trust the launch post over the older feature page.

Sites that run Kling through its API, Kavel included, cannot offer the full model until that API opens. Our Kling 4.0 page tracks the creator clips and adds the model the day Kling opens the API.

What creators saw in their first Kling 4.0 runs vs Kling 3.0

What got better

These are early-access reactions posted between September 28 and October 15, 2026, mostly on Flash. They are not a same-prompt test, and each links to the original post.

  • Fast action holds together. "Fast movement has seen a huge improvement compared to Kling 3.0!", wrote @ojiji2025 under a robot boxing clip made on Flash.
  • Lip sync drift looks fixed. "Looks like they fixed the 3.0 lip sync drift as well", posted @EccentrismArt, who also noted how fast Flash generates.
  • Prompts land. "One of my first tries. Prompt understanding is awesome," wrote @umesh_ai.
  • Thirty seconds, one shot. "Native 30s generation, a full 30-second clip, one shot, no stitching required," posted @xIrissy.
  • Camera directions come through. A music video made on the full model during early access, shared on r/aivideos, credits the camera directions in the prompt (a shaky handheld shot, an anamorphic look) for coming out as written.

Some of these posts, @ojiji2025's included, carry X's paid-partnership label, and the music video came out of a Kling-sponsored early-access program, so read them as early impressions rather than independent reviews.

@ojiji2025 on X, September 29, 2026: a 15-second Kling 4.0 Flash robot boxing clip captioned 'Fast movement has seen a huge improvement compared to Kling 3.0', labeled as a paid partnership

What testers say has not changed

Not everyone sees a jump. Three complaints from viewers on Kling's YouTube launch videos:

  • Artifacts: "This is the same model 3.0. Still same artifacts" (comment under "Kling 4.0 Creator Highlights").
  • Video-to-video sharpening: one viewer asked whether video-to-video still makes footage look "very contrasty and sharp" (comment on a Flash test video). Nobody has published a controlled test of that yet, so treat it as unverified for Kling 4.0 and run one real clip of your own before you commit credits to a batch.
  • Voice: another said a female voice in a launch film still sounded like older models' "metallic" AI voices (comment on Kling's "King Card" film).

On r/KlingAI_Videos, the most useful answer to "Omni 3 vs Kling 4.0" was to run the same prompt and reference through both and compare consistency, motion and camera control shot by shot.

Read together, the early reports point one way: fast action, lip sync and following camera directions are where testers saw gains; texture realism, voice quality and video-to-video sharpening are mixed or untested. If your 3.0 clips already look right at under 15 seconds, there is no quality reason to switch yet.

Kling 4.0 vs Kling 3.0: where 3.0 still wins

3.0 is the version you can run today on the Kling app and API, fal, Replicate and Kavel. It has a public API, it sits on fal and Replicate with published per-second prices, and it already does native sound, start and end frames and 4K. If your clip is a product turn, a reaction shot or a 5 to 10 second social video, the extra 15 seconds of Kling 4.0 do nothing for you, and 3.0 is already wired into the tools you use.

It is also the version for testing. YouArt's side-by-side test (youart.ai) found the full Kling 4.0 renders slower than 3.0 and suggests drafting framing and pacing on 3.0, then keeping Kling 4.0 for the final pass.

Kling 3.0 on Kavel

On Kavel's Kling 3.0 generator you get 4, 6, 8 or 10 second clips at 720p, 1080p or 4K, with sound on or off, from text or from a start and end frame. The credit price shows before you press generate, and a run that fails on our side puts its credits straight back.

Kavel's Kling 3.0 generator: prompt box, 16:9, 6 seconds, 720p, and the price of 455 credits shown before generating

Kling 4.0 vs Kling 3.0 price: does Kling 4.0 cost more?

There is no published Kling 4.0 API pricing yet, because the API is not open. On the Kling app, early testers reported that Flash costs fewer credits per second than 3.0 (r/KLING), and the launch discount above takes 10% off full Kling 4.0 generations on paid plans until October 29.

3.0 prices are public. Here is what one second costs where you can run it today.

Where you can run each one today (read October 16, 2026)

Where Kling 3.0 Kling 4.0 Price you pay
kling.ai (Kling's own app) Yes Yes, since October 15 Kling plan credits
Kling developer API Yes Coming soon Not published for Kling 4.0
fal.ai Yes (Kling v3 Pro) No $0.112 per second without audio, $0.168 with audio
Replicate Yes (kwaivgi/kling-v3-video) No $0.168 to $0.42 per second, by mode and audio
Kavel Yes Not yet (API pending) 6 s at 720p with sound: about 455 credits; a $19.90 pack has 2,800 credits

fal.ai Kling 3.0 Pro text-to-video playground, charged $0.112 per second with audio off and $0.168 with audio on, read October 16, 2026

On fal and Replicate you bring an API key and pay per call. On Kavel there is no key: you type the prompt, see the price, and spend from one credit balance. A $19.90 pack is a one-time payment that nothing renews, and it covers six 6-second 720p clips with sound. Full plan details are on pricing, and how Kling 3.0 compares on cost with Veo, Seedance and others is in our AI video pricing comparison.

Kling 4.0 vs Kling 3.0: which one should you use?

You want Use Why
A 5 to 10 second social clip or ad shot today Kling 3.0 Same 4K ceiling, sound included, runs everywhere
A 20 to 30 second scene in one continuous take Kling 4.0 Only Kling 4.0 goes past 15 seconds among Kling models
The same characters and product across a long shot Kling 4.0 15 reference assets and 10 keyframes vs 7 references
An app, a batch job or a pipeline through an API Kling 3.0 Kling 4.0 API access is still coming soon
Dialogue in Portuguese, German, French or Hindi Kling 4.0 These languages were added in Kling 4.0
Quick drafts before a final render Kling 3.0, then Kling 4.0 3.0 rendered faster in YouArt's test; re-run the keepers on Kling 4.0
HDR deliverables Wait for Kling 4.0 HDR 10-bit HDR is announced, not live

Kling 4.0 or Kling 3.0: which to use for a short social clip, a 30-second one-take scene, multi-reference shots, API work, new dialogue languages, drafts and HDR

If you need a 30-second take through a site that runs on APIs today, Wan 3.0 and Seedance 2.5 both reach 30 seconds in one generation on Kavel. If your clip is under 15 seconds and you do not need more than seven references, 3.0 gives you the same resolution and sound with no waiting on an API.

Kling 4.0 vs Kling 3.0 workflow: draft on 3.0, finish on Kling 4.0

Much of the planning for a Kling 4.0 clip can start on 3.0 today: the storyboard, framing tests and dialogue.

Kling's own keyframe example: Kling 3.0 uses start and end frames, Kling 4.0 sets up to 10 keyframes along a 28-second timeline, from the character entering to the final campaign shot

  1. One still per beat. The new model takes up to 10 keyframes. Make one image for each moment of the scene now; on 3.0 the first and last of them become your start and end frames.
  2. Every spoken line in quotes. Both models generate dialogue with lip sync. Write the exact words and how they are said: "quietly", "fast", "holding back".
  3. Test the framing on 3.0. Run each beat as a short 3.0 clip to lock the camera move, the pacing and the look; Kling 3.0 Turbo is the fast tier of the same model for these framing passes. Then join the beats into one Kling 4.0 prompt with the same stills as keyframes.

Storyboard first, then spend on the long take. Start your shots on Kling 3.0, with the price on screen before every run.

FAQ

Is Kling 4.0 free?
The company has not said Kling 4.0 is on its free plan. Flash opened to Ultra Yearly subscribers first, and the October 15 launch discount covers Pro, Premier, Ultra+ and Team plans. If you want to skip a subscription, 3.0 is pay-as-you-go on fal and Replicate, and runs on a one-time credit pack on Kavel.

When did the full Kling 4.0 come out?
October 15, 2026, when the official account posted that it is now fully available on kling.ai and through its MCP and CLI tools. Flash opened earlier, on September 28.

Is Kling 4.0 Flash the same model as Kling 4.0?
Flash is the fast, lighter tier of the Kling 4.0 family: 720p clips up to 20 seconds. The full model runs 3 to 30 seconds at 720p, 1080p or 4K, with 10-bit HDR announced for 1080p and 4K.

Can I still use Kling 3.0 after Kling 4.0 launched?
Yes. 3.0 is still on the Kling app and API, on fal and Replicate, and on Kavel's Kling 3.0 page. It remains the only one of the two you can call through an API today; for how it stacks up against Google's model, see Kling 3.0 vs Veo 3.1.

Does Kling 4.0 support video-to-video editing?
Yes. The new model builds editing into the same multimodal workflow, with up to five input clips and 30 seconds of combined video per task. 3.0 edits through its separate Omni workflows.

Can I use my own music or voice track in Kling 4.0?
Partly. The official model page says Kling 4.0 combines images, videos and audio as references, and a subject can carry a specified voice. It does not say a full song will drive the edit. For a music video, one early-access creator rendered the track over a black frame, fed that clip in as a video reference with stills for the shots, and got lip sync to the song (r/aivideos).

Is Kling 4.0 on Kavel?
Not yet. Kavel adds it when API access opens, which is listed as coming soon. Until then Kavel runs Kling 3.0 and labels it 3.0.

What's the latest version of Kling?
Kling 4.0, fully released on October 15, 2026. Version 3.0 is still offered on the official API and on third-party sites.

Is Kling 3.0 still any good?
Yes, for clips up to 15 seconds. It renders up to 4K with native sound and start and end frames, and it is the version with a public API and per-second prices on third-party sites.

Sources

Kling's own Kling 4.0 vs 3.0 comparison on the kling.ai blog (September 30, 2026), its model release page for the new version, and the October 15, 2026 launch post on X; launch discount from Kling's release post on r/KlingAI_Community. Kling 3.0 prices read on October 16, 2026 at fal.ai (fal-ai/kling-video/v3/pro) and replicate.com (kwaivgi/kling-v3-video). Creator reactions linked inline. Kavel prices: pricing.

See more Kavel guides like this one in Google Search and AI Overviews.

Add Kavel as a preferred source on Google

Stop reading and start directing

Turn the idea in this guide into the video you came here to make.