The best free AI image generators in October 2026 are ChatGPT and Google Gemini, which include free image generation in the assistants themselves with no number published, Playground for a stated 150 free images a month with commercial use, Krea for 100 free units a day, Microsoft Bing Image Creator for 15 fast creations that refill every hour, and Kavel for a free image with no account and no watermark. We read every vendor's own pricing or help page on October 12–13, 2026 (Leonardo on October 8). The catch is rarely the quota: on several free plans your image is public, watermarked, or owned by the vendor.
TL;DR: free AI image generators worth using in 2026
- Free AI image generators from the big assistants: ChatGPT (image generation "Limited" on the $0 plan) and Google Gemini (Nano Banana 2 included without a Google AI plan). Neither publishes a daily number (checked Oct 12, 2026).
- Biggest stated free AI image allowance: Playground — 150 credits a month, 1 credit per image, with a royalty-free commercial licence on the free plan.
- Daily free AI image allowance: Krea — 100 units a day; Bing Image Creator — 15 fast creations, refilled every hour; Leonardo — 150 fast tokens a day (public images).
- No account, no watermark: Kavel's free AI image generator — the free engine needs no signup and returns the image with nothing stamped on it.
- Free, but the image is not really yours: Recraft's free images are owned by Recraft and public; Raphael and Craiyon watermark free output; Ideogram's free credits are weekly and only for "eligible" accounts.
- No free AI image plan: Midjourney (from $10/month, $8 billed yearly) and Magnific, formerly Freepik (from $14.50/month billed yearly).
Free AI image generators compared (checked October 2026)
Each row is what the vendor's own page said on the date shown; we did not run test generations on every tool for this update. Where a vendor publishes no number, the cell says not stated.

| Tool | Free AI image allowance | Resets | Free output: watermark / privacy / rights | Cheapest paid plan | Checked on |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kavel (kavel.ai) | Free engine with no account; 5 credits (one image) before signup, 20 on signup, check-in worth 100 credits/week | Daily check-in | Free engine: no watermark. Credit images: kavel.ai mark until you pay. Private unless you share | Plans on the pricing page | Oct 12, 2026 (our own config) |
| ChatGPT (help.openai.com) | Image generation "Limited" on the $0 plan; no number | Shown in the app | Not stated | ChatGPT Go — "extended access to image generation" | Oct 12, 2026 |
| Google Gemini (gemini.google; support.google.com) | Nano Banana 2 image generation without a Google AI plan; no number | Every 5 hours, up to a weekly limit | Not stated | Google AI Plus | Oct 12, 2026 |
| Microsoft Bing Image Creator (bing.com) | Free with a Microsoft account; 15 fast creations on its create page, replenished within an hour | Hourly | Not stated | Rewards points buy extra boosts | Oct 12, 2026 |
| Meta AI (meta.ai) | "Create AI-generated images for free"; no number | Not stated | Not stated | — | Oct 12, 2026 |
| Playground (playground.com) | 150 credits/month, 1 credit per image on Muse Image, Nano Banana, GPT Image 2/2.5 and Seedream | Monthly | Commercial use, royalty-free licence | $12/mo billed yearly ($15 monthly) — 1,000 credits | Oct 12, 2026 |
| Krea (krea.ai) | 100 units/day | Daily | Commercial licence listed on paid plans | $5/mo billed yearly ($9 monthly) — 5,000 units | Oct 12, 2026 |
| Leonardo (leonardo.ai) | 150 fast tokens/day | Daily | Free creations are public | Not re-read (page blocked on Oct 13) | Oct 8, 2026 |
| Adobe Firefly (helpx.adobe.com) | "Free daily generations" incl. Nano Banana; no number | Daily | Not stated | $9.99/mo — 2,000 generative credits | Oct 12, 2026 |
| Ideogram (ideogram.ai) | Weekly credits for "eligible" accounts signing in with Google, Apple or Microsoft; amount "may vary" | Weekly | Private generation is paid; 1 running + queued job | $15/mo billed yearly ($20 monthly) — 2,400 credits | Oct 12, 2026 |
| Craiyon (craiyon.com) | Free; no number | Not stated | Paid plans add "No Watermarks" and "Private Images"; commercial use allowed on any account | Paid plans on the pricing page | Oct 13, 2026 |
| Raphael (raphael.app) | Free; no number | Not stated | "Free images include a watermark"; private images and commercial use are paid | $10/mo billed yearly ($120/year) — 2,000 credits | Oct 13, 2026 |
| Recraft (recraft.ai) | Free plan; no number | Not stated | Owned by Recraft, public in the gallery, not licensed for commercial use | Paid plans keep images private and yours | Oct 12, 2026 |
| Magnific, formerly Freepik (freepik.com) | No free AI image plan on the pricing page | — | — | $14.50/mo billed yearly ($20 monthly) | Oct 12, 2026 |
| Midjourney (midjourney.com) | No free plan | — | Stealth (private) mode only on Pro and Mega | $10/mo ($8/mo billed yearly) | Oct 12, 2026 |
Which free AI image generator to use for what

| What you want | Pick | Why | Its limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free images inside an assistant you already use | ChatGPT or Gemini | Image generation on the free plan | No published number |
| The biggest stated free AI image allowance | Playground | 150 a month, 1 credit each | Monthly, not daily |
| Something every day | Krea or Bing Image Creator | 100 units a day; 15 fast creations an hour | Krea's per-image cost depends on the model |
| No account at all | Kavel free engine or Perchance | No signup | Free engine queues when busy |
| Images you can sell | Playground or Craiyon | Commercial use stated on free | Craiyon watermarks free images |
| Keep the same character | Kavel Image to image | Start from a reference photo | Uses credits |
Free AI image generator with no account and no watermark

Kavel's free engine runs with no account and returns the image with nothing stamped on it. To start: open the image generator, tap Free engine, type what you want (or press Random for an example prompt), and generate. Images made with credits (5 before signup, 20 on signup, 100 a week from the check-in ladder) carry a small kavel.ai mark until you are on a plan, and every image stays private unless you share it. On a plan, the same prompt runs on Nano Banana 2 or GPT Image 2. Perchance (perchance.org) is the other no-account option; its page is the generator itself, with no number published.
Biggest free AI image allowance per day or month
Playground states the clearest number: 150 credits a month at 1 credit per image, across Nano Banana, GPT Image 2 and 2.5, Seedream and its own Muse Image, with a royalty-free commercial licence on the free plan. Krea has a daily allowance of 100 units, and Bing Image Creator replenishes 15 fast creations every hour. Twenty images in a day fits inside Bing's hourly refill or Playground's monthly 150, with no GPU needed.
Free AI image generator apps for iPhone and Android
For editing on a phone rather than generating, see AI photo editor apps. For generating, the two assistants are the simplest answer: ChatGPT's free plan includes image generation and Gemini's help page covers its phone apps, where Nano Banana 2 is free without a plan. Kavel and Perchance run in the phone browser with nothing to install.
Free AI image generators for text, posters and cards

The poster above was generated on Kavel with Nano Banana Pro, a paid model on our site. Its sibling Nano Banana 2 is free in Gemini without a plan and is one of the models Playground's 150 free monthly credits cover. Ideogram's free credits for text-heavy designs are weekly and conditional. Whatever the tool, keep the words short and in quotes, ask for one simple layout, and regenerate rather than edit when a letter comes out wrong.
Free AI image generators for a consistent character
None of the free plans we read lists character reference or face-lock as a free feature. The practical route is image-to-image from one reference photo: Kavel's Image to image mode takes the photo and runs on credits, and the images stay private. It is not a face-lock, so expect some drift across a long series.
What a free AI image generator charges you instead of money
| Free plan | What you give up | Checked on |
|---|---|---|
| Recraft | Ownership: images "are owned by Recraft", public in the gallery, not licensed for commercial use | Oct 12, 2026 |
| Leonardo | Privacy: free creations are public | Oct 8, 2026 |
| Ideogram | Privacy and timing: private generation is paid; credits are weekly and only for eligible accounts | Oct 12, 2026 |
| Raphael | A watermark on every free image | Oct 13, 2026 |
| Craiyon | A watermark and public images, though commercial use is allowed | Oct 13, 2026 |
| Kavel (credit images) | A small kavel.ai mark until you are on a plan; the free engine has none | Oct 12, 2026 |

Can you run a free AI image generator on your own computer?
Yes, if you have the hardware, and the licence decides whether you can sell the result (model cards read October 13, 2026). FLUX.1 [schnell] is released under Apache-2.0, so commercial use is allowed. FLUX.1 [dev] ships under a non-commercial licence, and Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large under the Stability Community Licence. Their model cards are written for GPU inference; on a laptop without a dedicated GPU, a hosted free tier is far quicker.
FAQ: free AI image generators
Which free AI image generator gives the most images per day?
Playground states 150 images a month (1 credit each), Bing Image Creator refills 15 fast creations every hour, and Krea gives 100 units a day. ChatGPT, Gemini, Adobe Firefly and Meta AI give free image generation without stating a number.
Is there a free AI image generator with no watermark?
Kavel's free engine returns images with nothing stamped on them, with no account. Raphael and Craiyon state that free images carry a watermark; most others do not say.
Can I use a free AI image commercially?
Playground's free plan includes a royalty-free commercial licence, and Craiyon allows commercial use on any account. Recraft's free images are not licensed for commercial use. Check each plan before you sell or print.
Is there a free AI image generator like Grok?
Grok lists Imagine under the paid SuperGrok plan. The closest free experience, asking for an image in a chat, is ChatGPT or Gemini, both of which generate images on their free plans.
Can a free AI image generator make 4K images?
None of the free plans we read states 4K output. Kavel's image generator offers up to 4K output on some of its models.
Is there an unlimited free AI image generator?
None of the free plans we read states unlimited images. The closest are Bing Image Creator, whose fast creations refill every hour, and Gemini, whose limits refresh every 5 hours up to a weekly cap.
Is my free AI image public?
On Leonardo and Recraft, yes. Ideogram charges for private generation. Kavel keeps images private unless you share them.
Do I need an account to generate a free AI image?
For most tools, yes. Kavel's free engine and Perchance work with no account.
Sources
Every figure was read from the vendor's own page on October 12–13, 2026 (Leonardo: October 8, 2026). More reads on this topic: free AI image generators with no sign-up, realistic photo generators compared, the cheapest paid image generators, Nano Banana alternatives priced per image, and remove an object from a photo.
Last updated: October 13, 2026.
- OpenAI ChatGPT pricing and Free Tier FAQ (official)
- Google Gemini Apps help, limits and feature table (official)
- Microsoft Bing Image Creator help (official)
- Meta AI (official)
- Playground pricing (official)
- Krea pricing (official)
- Leonardo pricing (official, October 8, 2026)
- Adobe Firefly plans (official)
- Ideogram pricing (official)
- Craiyon pricing and FAQ (official)
- Raphael pricing (official)
- Recraft pricing FAQ (official)
- Magnific (formerly Freepik) pricing (official)
- Midjourney plan comparison (official)
- Hugging Face model cards for FLUX.1 and Stable Diffusion 3.5





