An album cover is the rare AI image with a published pass/fail standard: Spotify accepts a 1:1 square between 640 and 10,000 pixels. That makes one question answerable — and of the 13 free AI album cover generators checked on September 7, 2026, not one states the pixel size of what it hands you. Neither do most of them say whether the free file carries a watermark, or whether you may release with it.
Closest to usable without paying: Neural Frames — the only one stating no signup, a PNG download and commercial use on the same page. It does not state a pixel size.
Most free credits up front: freebeat, 500 credits on signup with no card — and it states plainly that free-plan exports carry a watermark.
What you cannot learn before generating: 9 of 13 do not say whether an account is needed, 10 do not say whether you may release commercially, and 13 of 13 do not publish an output size.
Spotify's own requirement: TIFF, PNG or JPG, 1:1, between 640 px and 10,000 px on each side.
Every free AI album cover generator compared
Each figure was read from that album cover generator's own site or its own support pages on September 7, 2026. Cells that say not stated mean the vendor does not publish it where a normal person would look.
| AI album cover generator | Works without an account? | Free allowance | Watermark on free output | Commercial use stated | Entry price | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Neural Frames | Yes — "no signup" | Free tool, "36+ styles" | Not stated ("high-res PNG download") | Yes — "100% yours, commercial use" | $39/mo, or $26/mo billed yearly | Sep 7, 2026 |
| Kavel | Yes | 15 credits as a guest + daily check-ins | Clean downloads on any pack or plan | Not stated on page | $19.90 / 1,500 credits, never expire | Sep 7, 2026 |
| freebeat | Signup required, no card | 500 credits on signup; 11–79 credits per image | Yes — "a subtle watermark applied to their exports" | Not stated | Paid tiers remove the watermark | Sep 7, 2026 |
| NightCafe | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes — "personal or commercial purposes" | Not stated | Sep 7, 2026 |
| Sivi AI | Not stated | "Try free" | Not stated | Yes — "free commercial usage rights" | Not stated | Sep 7, 2026 |
| Artificial Studio | Not stated | "Start for free" | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Sep 7, 2026 |
| PosterMyWall | Not stated | Free design templates | Not stated | Not stated | Has a Premium tier | Sep 7, 2026 |
| Vmake | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Sep 7, 2026 |
| EaseMate | Not stated | 30 credits on app download | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Sep 7, 2026 |
| Template.net | Not stated | Free tier | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Sep 7, 2026 |
| Two Shot | Signup required, no card | Free credits on signup | States none, "no resolution cap" | Not stated | Not stated | Sep 7, 2026 |
| Canva | Not stated | Free album cover templates | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated on the generator page | Sep 7, 2026 |
| Adobe Firefly / Express | Not stated | "Free" on the generator page | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated on the generator page | Sep 7, 2026 |

Three gates a free AI album cover generator has to pass
Most roundups score an album cover generator on style range. Style is the part you can judge from a thumbnail. These three decide whether the file is releasable, and none of them are visible in a preview — or, as it turns out, on most of the pages.
Gate 1 — the watermark
freebeat is the only one that says so outright: free-plan exports carry "a subtle watermark," removed by upgrading. Two Shot states the opposite — no watermark, and no resolution cap. The remaining eleven album cover generators do not mention watermarking on the page at all, which is the part worth noticing: you find out after you have made the album cover.
Gate 2 — the pixels
Spotify's own support documentation asks for TIFF, PNG or JPG at a 1:1 ratio, between 640 and 10,000 pixels per side, at the highest resolution available.
Against a requirement that precise, not one of the thirteen album cover generators publishes an output size. Neural Frames comes closest with "high-res PNG download" and Two Shot says "no resolution cap" — neither is a number. A 1024 px square looks perfect in a browser and sits below what most distributors ask for, and you cannot tell which you have until the file is on disk.
Gate 3 — the licence
Three album cover generators state commercial rights in plain language on the page: Neural Frames ("100% yours, commercial use"), NightCafe ("personal or commercial purposes") and Sivi AI ("free commercial usage rights"). The other ten leave it to a terms document, which is not the same as telling you. Worth checking before a release rather than after, because the position varies by vendor and by plan.

What "free" buys from an AI album cover generator
Sorting the thirteen by what they tell you before you generate:
- Says the most — Neural Frames: no signup, a PNG download, commercial use, all on the tool page. Still no pixel size.
- Says the important part — freebeat, which tells you the free export is watermarked, and Two Shot, which tells you it is not. A clear "yes, watermarked" is more useful than silence.
- Says a price and little else — the remaining ten album cover generators publish a free tier without publishing what comes out of it.
That inverts the usual reading. freebeat's 500 free credits look like the most generous offer here and produce watermarked files; the disclosure is what makes the offer usable, not the size of it.
How this free AI album cover generator comparison was checked
Vendor landing and pricing pages were fetched directly on September 7, 2026. Where a page was unreachable to a plain request — freebeat returned HTTP 429 — the figures come from that vendor's own indexed pages, and only from their own domain. Spotify's requirement comes from Spotify's support documentation, not from a third-party blog.
Two limits, stated plainly. This measures what each album cover generator publishes, not what it produces — no controlled prompt was run across thirteen accounts, so a not stated cell is a gap in disclosure, not a verdict on the tool. A vendor may well grant commercial rights, output 4096 px and add no watermark while saying none of it on the page you read before generating.
The free AI album cover generator on this site
Kavel's AI Album Cover Generator starts at 15 credits as a guest — no account, no card — and the canvas is square by default, which is the shape the platforms ask for.
Two things the table cannot show:
- One prompt, several models. Nano Banana 2, Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2, Seedream 5.0 and Qwen Image 3 sit in the same dropdown, so a cover that is nearly right gets re-rolled rather than restarted somewhere else.
- The credit cost of each run shows before you commit — which matters when a cover takes six attempts rather than one.
Clean downloads with no watermark come with any pack or plan; pricing is here.
FAQ
Which free AI album cover generator works without signing up?
Neural Frames states "no signup" on its album cover tool page and Kavel gives 15 credits to guests. Both produce a file before asking for an account. freebeat and Two Shot are free but need a signup first, though neither asks for a card.
Will a free album cover have a watermark?
It depends on the tool and it is rarely on the marketing page. freebeat states plainly that free-plan exports carry a subtle watermark; PosterMyWall gates the clean file behind premium; Neural Frames and Two Shot state there is none. Nine of the thirteen do not say.
What resolution does an album cover need?
Spotify accepts TIFF, PNG or JPG at 1:1 between 640 and 10,000 pixels per side. Distributors generally ask for 3000 × 3000, sRGB, under 4 MB. Generate square from the start — cropping a rectangle afterwards is what pushes covers under the minimum.
Can I sell music with an AI album cover?
Three of the thirteen state commercial rights on the page: Neural Frames, NightCafe and Sivi AI. For the rest the answer lives in a terms document, and it varies by vendor and by plan — read it before the release, not after.
Do Apple Music and Spotify want the same file?
Spotify's published requirement is TIFF, PNG or JPG, 1:1, 640–10,000 px, at the highest resolution available. Distributors that deliver to both generally ask for a single square master well above that floor, which is why generating square from the start is the safe default — one file, every store.
Will an album cover get rejected for what is in it?
That risk sits with the distributor and the platform, not the album cover generator. Recognisable artists, brand logos and trademarked characters are the usual reasons artwork is sent back, and none of the thirteen tools check for it on your behalf.
Why do free album cover generators give so many credits?
Because credits and usable output are different things. freebeat's 500 free credits at 11–79 credits per image is a lot of generation — and every export from that free tier carries a watermark. Count what leaves the tool, not what the counter says.
What makes an AI album cover look cheap?
Text. Most models still render band names and album titles unevenly, so the reliable route is generating clean artwork and setting type over it afterwards. It is also why square-from-the-start matters: adding text to a cropped image moves the composition after the fact.
Vendor terms and prices read from their own sites on September 7, 2026; Spotify's specification from Spotify support. Vendors change pricing without notice — check the current page before paying.





