We read what fifteen free AI art generators publish about their own free tiers on 4 September 2026. The striking part is how little any of them commits to: OpenAI says free accounts can "create images in ChatGPT" and that limits "can change over time"; Google describes its free Gemini tier only as the baseline paid plans multiply; Ideogram's free-credit row reads "Weekly for eligible accounts" with the amount blank. The four ranking free AI art generator roundups we opened do not fill the gap either — therundown.ai, aiexplore.io, vdoo.ai and Zapier all repeat vendor figures without a read date, and Microsoft Designer (designer.microsoft.com, support.microsoft.com) and microsoft.com carry no figure at all.
- Best free AI art generator for most people: Krea. 100 compute units a day, then "unlimited relaxed generations" on its in-house models — the only vendor in this table whose page says the free art generator keeps working after the allowance is gone.
- Three of the biggest names publish no number at all. OpenAI, Google and Adobe each describe the free tier without stating an image count. Google's own footnote explains why: limits are compute-based and vary with prompt complexity and chat length.
- Ideogram's free credits are weekly, not daily, and the art generator does not say how many.
- Leonardo's "150 tokens a day" is two allowances. Its own token table prices a 768×768 image at 1 token and an Alchemy V2 image at 16. Same 150 tokens: 150 images on the default pipeline, or 9 on Alchemy V2.
- Recraft owns your free art output. Its docs: free-plan art images "are owned by Recraft" and may appear in the community gallery.
- Craiyon is free for commercial use — if you credit Craiyon. No-watermark and no-attribution are things you buy.
- Where a free tier states a queue rule, that is what binds. Ideogram free allows 1 running-or-queued generation; Krea free image concurrency is 1; Playground free is slower at peak. None of the four free AI art generator roundups we read mentions any of them.
- Adobe's free credits have a clock. They are allocated on first use of a Firefly feature and expire one month later.
- The free tier built to keep going daily: Kavel. 40 credits on sign-up, then a check-in ladder worth 100 a week, spendable across every model on the shelf from one pool.
Free AI art generators: what each one publishes about its own free plan
Read 4 September 2026 from each art generator's own pricing page, docs or help centre — the same way we read the free AI image generators. Where an art generator states no figure, the table says so instead of filling the gap — that blank is the finding, not a gap in our research.

| Tool | Free allowance | Refreshes | Concurrency on free | Rights catch on free | Watermark / attribution | Source (read 4 Sep 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT (OpenAI) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Free-tier FAQ (help.openai.com), 4 Sep 2026 |
| Gemini (Google) | Not stated — free is the baseline paid plans multiply | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Gemini plans (gemini.google), 4 Sep 2026 |
| Adobe Firefly | Credits granted on first use of a Firefly feature | Expire one month from allocation | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Credits FAQ (helpx.adobe.com), 4 Sep 2026 — firefly.adobe.com · helpx.adobe.com |
| Ideogram | Slow credits, amount not stated | Weekly, eligible accounts | 1 running + queued | No private generations | Not stated | Pricing table (ideogram.ai), 4 Sep 2026 |
| Leonardo.Ai | 150 tokens/day (1 token per 768×768 image; 16 per Alchemy V2) | Every 24 hours | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Token Usage (intercom.help), 4 Sep 2026 |
| Krea | 100 units/day, then unlimited relaxed generations | Daily | 1 image at a time | Not stated | Not stated | Pricing page, 4 Sep 2026 |
| Recraft | 3 uploads/day, 2 images per prompt, no top-ups | Daily | Not stated | Recraft owns the images | May appear in community gallery | Free-plan docs (www.recraft.ai), 4 Sep 2026 |
| Playground | 10 images / 3 hours; 3 monthly runs on the premium models | Every 3 hours | Slower at peak | Worldwide royalty-free licence | Not stated | Pricing page, 4 Sep 2026 |
| NightCafe | 5 credits/day on login or app use | Daily | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Pricing page, 4 Sep 2026 |
| Craiyon | Free tier available | Not stated | Priority queue is paid | Commercial use allowed on any tier | free art users must credit Craiyon | Pricing page, 4 Sep 2026 — craiyon.com |
| DeepAI | Usable without an account | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Ad-free costs $9.99/mo | Pricing page + docs, 4 Sep 2026 |
| Freepik | Not stated on the pricing table | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Pricing page, 4 Sep 2026 |
| Pixlr | 20 credits for new users; 250 on a 7-day trial | One-time | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Image-generator page, 4 Sep 2026 |
| Perchance | Self-described unlimited, no sign-up | n/a | Not stated | Not stated | Ad-funded (freestar loads on the page) |
Generator page, 4 Sep 2026 — perchanceai.art |
| Kavel | 40 credits on sign-up + a daily check-in ladder worth 100/week | Daily ladder | Free queue | Yours | "Clean downloads, no watermark" is listed on paid plans and packs, not on Free | Live config + pricing page, 4 Sep 2026 |
Two more free AI art generators sit just outside the table because neither publishes a figure either: Microsoft Designer (designer.microsoft.com, support.microsoft.com) and Canva (canva.com). Both were read on 4 Sep 2026.
Three of the biggest free AI art generators publish no limit at all
ChatGPT, Gemini and Firefly appear on every free AI art generator shortlist of free AI art generators. each one describes its free art tier without a number.
OpenAI
The ChatGPT Free Tier FAQ lists "Create images in ChatGPT" among free capabilities, then states that the default model and available limits can change over time. There is no images-per-day figure on the page.

Gemini's plans page never states the free allowance. It states what you get relative to it: "2x higher usage limits than Free" on one tier, up to "20x" on another. Its footnote reads: "compute-based usage limits factor in the complexity of your prompt, the features you use, and the length of your chat." Google does not publish a free art image count, and its own footnote describes the limit in compute terms rather than in images.

Adobe
Firefly publishes a mechanism instead of a number, and it is the detail that matters: on free plans, generative credits are allocated on first use of a Firefly feature and expire one month from allocation. The clock starts when you use it, not when you sign up.
Where free AI art generators say more than the shorthand suggests
-
Ideogram is weekly. Its pricing comparison table has one row for free slow credits: "Weekly for eligible accounts", amount left blank. The same table shows something the four free AI art generator roundups we read do not mention — free art accounts get 1 running-plus-queued generation. You wait for each image before asking for the next.

-
Leonardo's 150 is not one allowance. Leonardo publishes a full token cost table: a default 768×768 image is 1 token, Alchemy V2 is 16, upscalers are 5, background removal is 2. So 150 daily tokens is 150 images on the default pipeline, or about 9 on Alchemy V2.

-
Krea does not stop at 100. After the daily 100 compute units are gone, its pricing page offers "unlimited relaxed generations" on in-house models — Krea 2, Krea 1, Flux, Z-image, Qwen. The catch is a row on the same page: image concurrency 1.

The AI art generators whose free tier costs something other than money
Six of the fifteen free AI art generators above have a free tier that costs nothing in currency and something in another column.
| Vendor | What the free tier costs instead of money | Source (4 Sep 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Recraft | Copyright — Recraft owns free-plan art images; they may appear in the community gallery | Free-plan docs, 4 Sep 2026 |
| Craiyon | A credit line — free users must attribute Craiyon | Pricing page, 4 Sep 2026 |
| Perchance | Attention — ad-funded (freestar loads on the page) |
Generator page, 4 Sep 2026 |
| DeepAI | Attention — an ad-free experience is a $9.99/mo Pro feature | Pricing page, 4 Sep 2026 |
| Adobe Firefly | Time — credits expire one month after first use | Credits FAQ, 4 Sep 2026 |
| Ideogram | Privacy — private generations are a paid feature | Pricing table, 4 Sep 2026 |
Recraft takes the copyright
Recraft's free-plan docs allow three uploads a day and two images per prompt, no top-ups. Its pricing FAQ answers its own question about who owns free-plan art images: they "are owned by Recraft", and may appear in the community gallery. for a logo or a client art asset that is a demo, not a free tier.
Craiyon takes a credit line
Craiyon allows commercial use on any account type, free included — and requires free users to credit Craiyon. Its feature table sells "No watermarks", "No attribution", "HD downloads" and "Private images" as paid upgrades.
Perchance takes attention
Perchance advertises no sign-up, no limits and no watermark; we read the claim, we did not test it. The page also loads the freestar ad provider — worth knowing before you send an art team there.
What actually limits free AI art generators: concurrency, not credits
four of the art generators above publish a queue rule on the free plan, and none of the four free AI art generator roundups we read mentions any of them: where a free tier states a queue limit, that limit can bind before the credit count does.
Read from the vendors' own pages, 4 September 2026: Ideogram free allows 1 running-or-queued generation · Krea free image concurrency is 1 · Playground free is slower at peak · Craiyon's priority queue is a paid feature.
a free AI art generator can therefore state a respectable image count and still not let you run an art batch.
How we would pick between free AI art generators
Most people: Krea, because the relaxed queue keeps working after the meter stops. Commercial art certainty: Playground, whose free plan states a worldwide royalty-free licence in plain words. Text inside art: Ideogram — Zapier's roundup picks it for "accurate text" — at one job at a time.
If you intend to keep making art, the free AI art generator tier is the wrong column to compare. What decides the next six months is what a good art image costs once the free art window closes.
That column is the one we publish. On Kavel every model runs off one credit pool and, in the words of our own pricing page, "the cost shows before every run, and failed jobs are not charged": at 1K, GPT Image 2 is 10 credits, Seedream 4.0 is 20, Nano Banana Pro and Seedream 5.0 Pro are 30, Grok Imagine Image 2.0 is 45, in-house Kavel Image v1 is 5. Free accounts start with 40 credits plus a daily check-in ladder worth 100 a week. Start on the ChatGPT image generator page, or run the same prompt through Nano Banana 2.

FAQ: free AI art generators
Which free AI art generator gives the most images per day in 2026?
Krea, on published figures: 100 compute units a day, then unlimited relaxed generations on its in-house models. Leonardo's 150 daily tokens is the largest stated number, and it buys 150 basic images — or roughly 9 Alchemy V2 ones.
Does ChatGPT have a free AI art limit?
OpenAI does not publish one. Its Free Tier FAQ confirms free accounts can create images and says the limits can change over time. Any specific ChatGPT figure you see quoted is someone's observation, not a vendor statement.
Can I use free AI art commercially?
This is where free AI art generator tiers differ most. Playground's free plan states a worldwide royalty-free licence; Craiyon allows commercial use on every tier but requires attribution from free users; Recraft's docs say it owns free-plan art images and may show them publicly.
Do free AI art generators add a watermark?
Most of the pages we read do not mention watermarks at all. The costs they do state are attribution (Craiyon), a community gallery (Recraft), no private generations (Ideogram), ads (Perchance; DeepAI sells an ad-free tier) and expiring credits (Firefly). Read the art rights row before the resolution row.
Why do free AI art generators feel slow even when I have credits left?
Because the limit you hit on a free art generator is concurrency, not credits — and it is not in any credits comparison we read.
Sources
Every figure above was read on 4 September 2026 on the art generator's own domain. Listed by the host the page sits on, so anyone can re-open the same page:
- OpenAI — help.openai.com (ChatGPT free-tier FAQ)
- Google — gemini.google plans page, support.google.com
- Adobe — helpx.adobe.com generative-credits FAQ, firefly.adobe.com, adobe.com plan comparison
- Ideogram — ideogram.ai pricing table, docs.ideogram.ai
- Leonardo.Ai — intercom.help token-usage article
- Krea — krea.ai pricing
- Recraft — recraft.ai free-plan docs and pricing FAQ
- Microsoft — designer.microsoft.com, support.microsoft.com
- Canva — canva.com pricing
- Craiyon — craiyon.com pricing
- Perchance — perchanceai.art generator page
- Kavel — our own live configuration endpoint, re-read 9 September 2026
Third-party roundups we compared against, none of which carries a read date: therundown.ai, aiexplore.io, vdoo.ai, Zapier.
Last updated: September 2026.





